The riverside wharves
|Wharves of the Pool: the south bank|
Fenning's, Sun and Topping's Wharves
These were once separate general wharves with extensive facilities dating from the 19th century.
All three were swallowed up by the Hay's Wharf group. No. 1 London Bridge, a huge office development, now occupies the site.
Cotton's and Chamberlain's Wharves
Hay's Wharf was founded in 1651 by Alexander Hay. Based around a tidal creek, it was the oldest and the most successful of all London's general wharves. It took over almost every other wharf on the south bank between London Bridge and Tower Bridge.
It became known as the 'larder of London' because of its enormous trade in foodstuffs, mainly dairy and meat products and tea and coffee. Up to three-quarters of all London's imported food passed through the group's wharves.
Despite severe damage during the Second World War, the wharf was rebuilt and the group continued to thrive until the 1960s, finally closing in 1969.
The central area of Hay's Dock has now been incorporated into the Hay's Galleria residential and retail complex.
South Thames and neighbouring wharves
This picture shows several small wharves east of Hay's: Stanton's, Symon's, Gun & Shot, South Thames and the Griffin Wharves.
The Gun & Shot Wharf was unique in that it was the only one between London Bridge and Tower Bridge that was not swallowed up by the Hay's group.
Mark Brown's Wharf
Mark Brown's became part of the Hay's group in 1929. The small buildings to the left belong to the Tower Bridge Wharf. This imported hides and skins from the East Indies for the leather trade in Bermondsey.
The wharf closed in 1972 and its attractive warehouse was converted into housing in the 1980s.