PortCities London
UK Bristol Hartlepool Liverpool London Southampton
You are here:  
Text Only About this Site Feedback
Explore this site
About maritime London
Early port
Tudor and Stuart port
18th-century port
19th-century port
20th-century port
People and places
Crime and punishment
Leisure, health and housing
Art and architecture
The working river
Docks and shipping
Trades, industries and institutions
Science and discovery
Historical events
Death and disaster
War and conflict
Fun and games
Matching games
Timeline games

'The Pepys Housing Estate in Deptford was formerly the site of which famous naval institution?'


Henry VIII's naval dockyard, built in 1513.

  • The Navy Board was established by Henry VIII and it was responsible for running the dockyard and for the repair and building of all naval warships.
  • The Pepys Estate is named after the diarist, Samuel Pepys, who often visited the dockyard when he was Clerk to the Navy Board.
  • Captain Cook's ship, HMS Endeavour, was fitted out at Deptford Dockyard.
Samuel Pepys, 1633-1703.
Samuel Pepys, 1633-1703.
Unique ID: BHC2947
Description: Samuel Pepys (1633-1703) was a diarist and administrator of the Navy. In 1660, he began his service under the patronage of Lord Sandwich, his cousin. He was initially Clerk of the Acts, and was Secretary to the Admiralty, 1686-88 where he created a modern state department out of an archaic office. He left the Admiralty in February 1689, when his patron, King James II, was forced to flee the country and William and Mary came to the throne. Thus, the portrait above was painted by Kneller during a turbulent year for Pepys, as it is inscribed and dated on the back 'Mr Pepes G. Kneller fecit 1689'.
Creator: Sir Godfrey Kneller
Date: 1689
Copyright of object: Out of Copyright
Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London
National Maritime Museum/Royal Observatory Greenwich New Opportunities Fund  
Legal & Copyright Partner sites: Bristol Hartlepool Liverpool Southampton About this Site Feedback Text Only