|Explore this site|
The Royal Laboratory at the Woolwich Arsenal.
|The Royal Laboratory at the Woolwich Arsenal.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: PW5733|
|Description: The Royal Laboratory at Woolwich was completed in 1696, and was used for the invention and development of weapons. By 1777 the laboratory and its surrounding area covered 104 acres, and almost 500 people worked there. The complex was renamed the Arsenal in 1805, following a suggestion by King George III during a visit in that year.|
|Date: 18th century|
|Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London|