|Explore this site|
Tilbury Docks in 1886.
|Tilbury Docks in 1886.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: G1787|
|Description: Tilbury Docks seen from the south side of the Thames in 1886, the year they opened. The system consisted of three parallel branch docks linked to one large main dock, with transit sheds, a hotel and a buffet. The docks benefitted from the connection with the London, Tilbury and Southend railway line, allowing rapid distribution of goods to the capital and the rest of the country. For decades after their opening, they were relatively underused.|
|Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London|