|Explore this site|
Moss's Wharf, Old Greenwich, 1923.
|Moss's Wharf, Old Greenwich, 1923.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: PU8190|
|Description: The waterfront buildings of R. Moss & Sons, Crane Wharf in East Greenwich, immediately east of the Yacht public house with the bow of a Dutch sailing barge to the right. 'MOSS'S WHARF' appears on the riverfront wall of the central house, which has two upper floors of disintegrating Regency pattern iron railings: a sign reading TELEPHONE GREENWICH is partly visible below, and on the left wall an advertisement reads 'OLD ROPE & IRON BOUGHT FOR EXPORT'. A man, woman and a girl are visible on the ground-floor wharf level of the building with a pile of coiled rope. Ladders descend from there to behind the side of a lighter on the river, stretching across the full width of the image.|
|Creator: Graham Sutherland 1903-1980 (artist & engraver)|
|Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London|