|Explore this site|
The drawing room of Crowley House, Greenwich.
|The drawing room of Crowley House, Greenwich.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: PY3264|
|Description: This view inside Crowley House looks westward in the abandoned first-floor drawing-room, which commanded fine views of the river from Deptford to Blackwall through the bow windows seen on the right. Crowley House, one of many fine 17th- and 18th-century Greenwich residences, was begun in 1647. The House was demolished in 1854 and Greenwich Power Station now stands on the site. Early 20th-century river directories still name it as Crowley's Wharf.|
|Creator: Clarkson Stanfield (1793-1867)|
|Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London|