PortCities London
UKBristolHartlepoolLiverpoolLondonSouthampton
You are here:  PortCities London home > The working Thames
Text Only About this Site Feedback
Explore this site
About maritime London
Early port
Tudor and Stuart port
18th-century port
19th-century port
20th-century port
People and places
Port communities
Crime and punishment
Leisure, health and housing
Thames art, literature and architecture
The working Thames
London's docks and shipping
Trades, industries and institutions
Port of science and discovery
Historical events
Ceremony and catastrophe
London in war and conflict
Fun and games
Things to do
Timeline games
Matching games
Send an e-card
*
   Back to Shipping off Woolwich Dockyard
*
**
*

Inside the Greenwich Foot Tunnel.

Inside the Greenwich Foot Tunnel.
Inside the Greenwich Foot Tunnel.
© National Maritime Museum, London
Repro ID: H6454
Description: The Greenwich Foot Tunnel, running between Greenwich and the Isle of Dogs, was built by the London County Council in 1899-1902. It was designed by the LCC's Chief Engineer Sir Alexander Binnie, responsible also for the Blackwall Tunnel (1897) and the new Vauxhall Bridge (1906). The tunnel replaced the unreliable Greenwich Steam Ferry. Inside the tunnel, lined with white tiles, only the lighting has changed since 1902. The tunnel was once used by thousands of workers in the docks and the industries of the Isle of Dogs, and also gave East Enders easy access to Greenwich. Relatively few people use the tunnel today.
Creator: Simon Niziol
Date: 14 April 2004
Credit line: National Maritime Museum
*
*
8
National Maritime Museum/Royal Observatory GreenwichNew Opportunities Fund 
Legal & CopyrightPartner sites:BristolHartlepoolLiverpoolSouthamptonAbout this SiteFeedbackText Only