PortCities London
UKBristolHartlepoolLiverpoolLondonSouthampton
You are here:  PortCities London home > The working Thames > Trades, industries and institutions
Text Only About this Site Feedback
Explore this site
About maritime London
Early port
Tudor and Stuart port
18th-century port
19th-century port
20th-century port
People and places
Port communities
Crime and punishment
Leisure, health and housing
Thames art, literature and architecture
The working Thames
London's docks and shipping
Trades, industries and institutions
Port of science and discovery
Historical events
Ceremony and catastrophe
London in war and conflict
Fun and games
Things to do
Timeline games
Matching games
Send an e-card
*
   Back to Demise of the Great Eastern
*
**
*

Trinity Buoy Wharf.

Trinity Buoy Wharf.
Trinity Buoy Wharf.
© National Maritime Museum, London
Repro ID: H5305
Description: Trinity Buoy Wharf is situated at the confluence of the rivers Lea and the Thames, directly opposite Blackwall Point and the site of the Millennium Dome. This was the main workshop and supply depot of the Corporation of Trinity House from 1803 until 1988. The buildings include a lighthouse, dating from 1863, used for the training of lighthouse keepers. Trinity House moved its depot to Harwich in 1988, but the main buildings at Trinity Buoy Wharf have survived.
Creator: 'Illustrated London News'.
Date: 18 January 1868
Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London
*
*
8
National Maritime Museum/Royal Observatory GreenwichNew Opportunities Fund 
Legal & CopyrightPartner sites:BristolHartlepoolLiverpoolSouthamptonAbout this SiteFeedbackText Only