|Explore this site|
The New Trinity House on Tower Hill.
|The headquarters of Trinity House.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: PU1428|
|Description: In the 1790s the headquarters of the Corporation of Trinity House moved from Deptford to Trinity Square on Tower Hill. The foundation stone was laid by William Pitt, then Master of the Corporation. During the Second World War the building, designed by Samuel Wyatt, was damaged by bombing. After the war it was restored and was reopened by Queen Elizabeth II on 21 October 1953. Today it remains the centre of the Corporation's activities.|
|Date: c. 1796|
|Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London|