|Explore this site|
The Dreadnought, 104 Guns, until recently lying off Greenwich.
|The Dreadnought, 104 Guns, until recently lying off Greenwich.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: PU6061|
|Description: The Seamen's Hospital Society was founded in 1821 to care for sick and injured seafarers in the Merchant Navy. Until 1871, the work of the Society was carried out on board a hospital ship moored at Greenwich. Three ships were successively made available by the Admiralty and were converted to hospital use at the expense of the Society. The lower decks were used as wards and the top deck fitted with canvas sheltered for the convalescent patients. HMS 'Dreadnought' (1801) was one of the first of these ships. In 1870 the hospital came ashore when the the Society was granted the use of the infirmary of the Royal Hospital Greenwich.|
|Creator: Edward William Cooke (artist & engraver)|
|Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London|