|Explore this site|
The Prospect of Whitby public house.
|The Prospect of Whitby public house.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: H5430|
|Description: The famous riverside tavern The Prospect of Whitby', on Wapping Wall, dates back to 1520 and was once a notorious den of smugglers and thieves. It was originally known as the Devil's Tavern. Pepys was a regular visitor here and meetings of the Ancient Society of Pepys are still held here. In 1777 the name was changed to the present one after a ship named the 'Prospect', which was registered at Whitby, moored off the tavern and became a landmark. Dickens was a regular customer, as were the artists Whistler and Turner. The ship was lost at sea in 1795.|
|Creator: Cleve Severin|
|Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London|