PortCities London
UKBristolHartlepoolLiverpoolLondonSouthampton
You are here:  PortCities London home > The working Thames > London's docks and shipping
Text Only About this Site Feedback
Explore this site
About maritime London
Early port
Tudor and Stuart port
18th-century port
19th-century port
20th-century port
People and places
Port communities
Crime and punishment
Leisure, health and housing
Thames art, literature and architecture
The working Thames
London's docks and shipping
Trades, industries and institutions
Port of science and discovery
Historical events
Ceremony and catastrophe
London in war and conflict
Fun and games
Things to do
Timeline games
Matching games
Send an e-card
*
   Back to Flags
*
**
*

Trinity Almshouses on Mile End Road.

Trinity Almshouses on Mile End Road.
Trinity Almshouses on Mile End Road.
© National Maritime Museum, London
Repro ID: H5339
Description: The almshouses 'wherein 28 decayed Masters and Commanders of Ships or ye widows of such are maintain'd' were built in 1695 by the Corporation of Trinity House on land provided by Captain Henry Mudd. Bombed in 1941, the redbrick cottages were later modernised by the London County Council. According to C. R. Asbee, who published in 1896 'The Trinity House in Mile End: An object lesson in National History' as the first report of the Committee for the Survey of the Memorials of Greater London, the building was a joint creation of John Evelyn and Christopher Wren. There does not, however, seem to be any evidence to confirm this claim.
Creator: Andrew Holt
Date: September 2003
Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London
*
*
Related Resources
Related Images1 Images
*
*
8
National Maritime Museum/Royal Observatory GreenwichNew Opportunities Fund 
Legal & CopyrightPartner sites:BristolHartlepoolLiverpoolSouthamptonAbout this SiteFeedbackText Only