|Explore this site|
The coat of arms of the Dock, Wharf, Riverside and General Labourers' Union.
|Coat of arms of the Dock, Wharf, Riverside and General Labourers' Union.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: H5141|
|Description: Immediately after the dockers' strike had been won, Ben Tillett, Tom Mann and Tom MacCarthy of the Stevedores established the Dock, Wharf, Riverside and General Labourers' Union. The certificate above shows the new union's coat of arms. At the top of the certificate is an Australian docker with his English counterpart, symbolising the assistance that the Australians gave to the London dockers during the 1889 strike. In the top left hand corner can be seen the entrance to the East India Dock. The large vessel in the centre is the 'Lady Armstrong'. It was a dispute over the unloading of this vessel that caused the strike. The certificate belonged to Ernest Bevin (1881-1951). A hugely influential trade union leader, Bevin was instrumental in establishing the Transport & General Workers Union (TGWU). From 1940, as a Labour MP, Bevin was Minister of Labour and National Service in Churchill’s War Cabinet (1940-5). As Foreign Minister he was a powerful presence in Atlee’s 1945 government, playing a key role in negotiations for European economic co-operation and the inception of NATO.|
|Credit line: People's History Museum, Manchester|