|Explore this site|
The figurehead of the Cutty Sark.
|Figurehead of the Cutty Sark.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Description: The 'Cutty Sark' was launched in 1869. She was built of teak on an iron frame by Scott and Linton of Dumbarton, on the Clyde. 'Cutty Sark' was involved in the tea trade and from 1885 to 1895 the Australian wool trade but she was eventually sold to the Portuguese and renamed the 'Ferreira'. She was later fully restored under her original name and can now be seen at Greenwich on the River Thames.|
|Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London|