PortCities London
UKBristolHartlepoolLiverpoolLondonSouthampton
You are here:  PortCities London home > The working Thames
Text Only About this Site Feedback
Explore this site
About maritime London
Early port
Tudor and Stuart port
18th-century port
19th-century port
20th-century port
People and places
Port communities
Crime and punishment
Leisure, health and housing
Thames art, literature and architecture
The working Thames
London's docks and shipping
Trades, industries and institutions
Port of science and discovery
Historical events
Ceremony and catastrophe
London in war and conflict
Fun and games
Things to do
Timeline games
Matching games
Send an e-card
*
   Back to Introduction
*
**
*

The stone at the entrance of the former Scandinavian Seamen's Temperance Hostel.

The stone at the entrance of the former Scandinavian Seamen's Temperance Hostel.
The stone at the entrance of the former Scandinavian Seamen's Temperance Hostel.
© National Maritime Museum, London
Repro ID: H4900
Description: The stone at the entrance of the former Scandinavian Seamen's Temperance Hostel in Garford Street, near the West India Docks. It was unveiled at the opening of the Hostel in February 1889 by Prince Oskar of Sweden and Norway. Oskar was the son of King Gustav, and father of Count Folk von Bernadotte, who became famous as head of the Swedish Red Cross during the Second World War. The Scandinavian Seamen's Temperance Hostel occupied this building until it closed in 1928. The building served as a Salvation Army Hostel until June 2003, and is now earmarked for demolition.
Creator: Cleve Severin
Date: 27 June 2003
Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London
*
*
Related Resources
Related Images1 Images
*
*
8
National Maritime Museum/Royal Observatory GreenwichNew Opportunities Fund 
Legal & CopyrightPartner sites:BristolHartlepoolLiverpoolSouthamptonAbout this SiteFeedbackText Only