|Explore this site|
The General Offices of the Thames Ironworks at Orchard Yard.
|General offices at Orchard Yard, Blackwall.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: H2831|
|Description: By the late 1860s the Thames Ironworks retained only a five-acre area on the Middlesex side of Bow Creek (River Lea). Most of its operations were taking place across the Creek on the Essex side. The original general offices (shown here) remained on the Middlesex part of the site until 1903, when the directors, drawing and office staff moved across the Creek to the Essex side.|
|Date: 31 May 1903|
|Credit line: Newham Archives and Local Studies Library collection.|