|Explore this site|
The Royal Arsenal, Woolwich.
|Royal Arsenal, Woolwich.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: H0684|
|Description: This postcard shows the front of the Royal Arsenal at Woolwich. The development of the site began in 1671, when the Crown purchased the old mansion known as Tower Place together with 31 acres of land, for use as an ordnance storage depot. The change from storage depot to munitions factory began in 1696 when the Royal Laboratory was constructed for the purpose of manufacturing ammunition, fuses and gun-powder. The Arsenal closed in 1967, and the site is being converted to new uses. Appropriately, some of the Arsenal buildings house Firepower - the museum of the Royal Artillery.|
|Date: 20th century|
|Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London|