|Explore this site|
The Massage and Electrical Department at the Dreadnought Hospital, Greenwich.
|Dreadnought Hospital Greenwich.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: H0661|
|Description: The Massage and Electrical Department of the Dreadnought Hospital. The Seamen's Hospital Society was founded in 1821 to care for sick and injured seafarers in the merchant Navy. From 1821 to 1871, the work of the Society was carried out on board a hospital ship moored on the Thames at Greenwich. Three ships were successively made available by the Admiralty and were converted to hospital use at the expense of the Society. The lower decks were used as wards and the top deck fitted with canvas shelters for the convalescent patients. In 1870 the hospital came ashore when the the Society was granted the use of the infirmary of the Royal Hospital Greenwich and grew to accommodate 345 beds. Since the closure of the site in Greenwich in 1986, St Thomas's Hospital in London continues a service for seafearers.|
|Date: 19th century|
|Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London|