|Explore this site|
Mrs Arnold Hills at the ceremonial laying of the keel plate of the Thunderer.
|Mrs Arnold Hills at the ceremonial laying of the keel plate of the Thunderer.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: H2663|
|Description: The keel of the 'Thunderer' was laid by Mrs Arnold Hills at the Thames Ironworks on 16 April 1910. 'The Thames Ironworks Quarterly Gazette' reported: 'Mrs Hills pulled a lever and the crane brought the keel plate (some thirty feet long) slowly into position. Workmen then picked up the red hot rivets and drove them into their place, Mrs Hills helping to fasten them by a few taps given with a silver hammer...a band [then] struck up "O weel may the keel row"'.|
|Date: 16 April 1910|
|Credit line: Newham Archives and Local Studies Library collection.|