|Explore this site|
A view of the Custom House, by Maurer.
|A view of the Custom House, by Maurer.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: PY2176|
|Description: The full title of this 1753 engraving is 'A view of the Custom House with part of the Tower, taken from ye River Thames, London. Customs duties were taxes on imported and exported goods, and became a vital source of revenue for kings and governments. The Custom House was the office where shipping agents would bring documents to customs officials. London's first Custom House was built around 1275, and rebuilt in 1378 and 1559. Destroyed in the Great Fire of London in 1666, a new Custom House was built by Sir Christopher Wren during 1669-71. This suffered severe damage after a gunpowder explosion in 1714, and the Custom House was rebuilt on Wren's foundations in 1717-25. The architect was Thomas Ripley, who introduced the famous Long Room. Ripley's Custom House burned down in 1814.|
|Creator: Maurer (artist), John Bowles (engraver & publisher), John Bowles & Son (publishers), Robert Sayer (publisher)|
|Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London|