PortCities London
UKBristolHartlepoolLiverpoolLondonSouthampton
You are here:  PortCities London home > The working Thames > London's docks and shipping
Text Only About this Site Feedback
Explore this site
About maritime London
Early port
Tudor and Stuart port
18th-century port
19th-century port
20th-century port
People and places
Port communities
Crime and punishment
Leisure, health and housing
Thames art, literature and architecture
The working Thames
London's docks and shipping
Trades, industries and institutions
Port of science and discovery
Historical events
Ceremony and catastrophe
London in war and conflict
Fun and games
Things to do
Timeline games
Matching games
Send an e-card
*
   Back to What is left of the old port: the East India Docks
*
**
*

The L'Avenir (1908) in the Millwall Docks.

The L'Avenir (1908) in the Millwall Docks.
The barque L'Avenir (1908).
© National Maritime Museum, London
Repro ID: P8158
Description: The four-masted barque 'L'Avenir' (1908) at Millwall Dock in June 1936, with McDougall's Wheatsheaf Mill the background. Built in Germany, in 1911 she became the first sailing ship to be fitted with a radio transmitter. Between 1932 and 1937 she was owned by Gustaf Erikson, and carried Australian grain to London. She disappeared without trace in March 1938.
Creator: Unknown
Date: June 1936
Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London
*
*
Related Resources
Related Galleries13 Galleries
Related Images471 Images
*
*
8
National Maritime Museum/Royal Observatory GreenwichNew Opportunities Fund 
Legal & CopyrightPartner sites:BristolHartlepoolLiverpoolSouthamptonAbout this SiteFeedbackText Only