|Explore this site|
Greenwich and the Dreadnought.
|Greenwich and the Dreadnought.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: PY3271|
|Description: A summer view from the north-west towards Greenwich from the Isle of Dogs, with pleasure craft on the river and paddle steamers off Greenwich Pier to the west of Greenwich Hospital. On the far right is the Seamen's Hospital Society hospital ship 'Dreadnought', from 1856 the three-decker, 120-gun ship formerly known as HMS 'Caledonia'. From 1870, the hospital ship was closed and its functions were transferred to the old Infirmary of Greenwich Hospital, which was renamed the Dreadnought Hospital. The ship was removed and broken up in 1875. To its left here a paddle tug tows a small brig downstream. Another comes up under sail on the far left and a third is moored off the Hospital. The Observatory can be seen high in Greenwich Park and the spire of St Alfege's just above the lion figurehead of the 'Dreadnought'.|
|Creator: William Parrott (1813-1869)|
|Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London|