PortCities London
UKBristolHartlepoolLiverpoolLondonSouthampton
You are here:  PortCities London home > The working Thames
Text Only About this Site Feedback
Explore this site
About maritime London
Early port
Tudor and Stuart port
18th-century port
19th-century port
20th-century port
People and places
Port communities
Crime and punishment
Leisure, health and housing
Thames art, literature and architecture
The working Thames
London's docks and shipping
Trades, industries and institutions
Port of science and discovery
Historical events
Ceremony and catastrophe
London in war and conflict
Fun and games
Things to do
Timeline games
Matching games
Send an e-card
*
   Back to The National Dock Labour Scheme and labour relations after 1945
*
**
*

Trinity Buoy Wharf.

Trinity Buoy Wharf.
Trinity Buoy Wharf.
© National Maritime Museum, London
Repro ID: H0694
Description: An aerial view of Trinity Buoy Wharf, formerly the maintenance headquarters of the Corporation of Trinity House. The small lightouse used to train lighthouse keepers can be seen towards the left of the picture. To the west of Trinity Buoy Wharf (further right on the photograph) is Green's Ship Yard, founded by George Green and later part of Green and Silley Weir. A vessel is being repaired in the dry dock. On the bottom right is Bow Creek, the final section of the River Lea. A part of the Thames Ironworks once fronted this section of the Lea.
Creator: Unknown
Date: 20th century
Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London
*
*
Related Resources
Related Images9 Images
*
*
8
National Maritime Museum/Royal Observatory GreenwichNew Opportunities Fund 
Legal & CopyrightPartner sites:BristolHartlepoolLiverpoolSouthamptonAbout this SiteFeedbackText Only