|Explore this site|
Dock gates for the Regent's Canal.
|Dock gates for the Regent's Canal.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: H0678|
|Description: The new dock gates for the entrance to the Regent's Canal enter the water at Limehouse Basin (Regent's Canal Dock) after being pushed down two large wooden slipways. The slipways were covered in grease to assist the movement of the gates. The dock was opened in 1820 in order to connect the Regent's Canal with the River Thames at Limehouse.|
|Date: 20th century|
|Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London|