|Explore this site|
The entrance to the Royal Victoria Yard.
|The entrance to the Royal Victoria Yard.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: H0363|
|Description: The entrance to the Royal Victoria Victualling Yard, with horses and carts outside. The Yard owed its name to the visit of Queen Victoria in 1858, when she commanded that it should be called 'Royal Victoria Yard'. It was the largest of the Admiralty Victualling Yards, the other two being at Gosport (the Royal Clarence Yard) and Plymouth (the Royal William Yard). The Royal Victoria Yard was officially closed by Rear Admiral A.H.C. Gordon-Lennox in 1960.|
|Date: September 1901|
|Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London|