PortCities London
You are here:  PortCities London home > The working Thames
Text Only About this Site Feedback
Explore this site
About maritime London
Early port
Tudor and Stuart port
18th-century port
19th-century port
20th-century port
People and places
Port communities
Crime and punishment
Leisure, health and housing
Thames art, literature and architecture
The working Thames
London's docks and shipping
Trades, industries and institutions
Port of science and discovery
Historical events
Ceremony and catastrophe
London in war and conflict
Fun and games
Things to do
Timeline games
Matching games
Send an e-card
   Back to Ship broking and the Baltic Exchange

Isle of Dogs as seen from the Docks at Rotherhithe.

Isle of Dogs as seen from the Docks at Rotherhithe.
Isle of Dogs as seen from the Docks at Rotherhithe.
© National Maritime Museum, London
Repro ID: PU1408
Description: A view across the Thames towards the Isle of Dogs from Rotherhithe. On the far shore, several windmills can be seen. This area of the Isle of Dogs was originally known as Marshwall, but was re-named Millwall in the 18th century. The riverside windmills have long since disappeared.
Creator: W. H. Timms (artist and engraver); C. Richards (publisher)
Date: 1 February 1821
Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London
National Maritime Museum/Royal Observatory GreenwichNew Opportunities Fund 
Legal & CopyrightPartner sites:BristolHartlepoolLiverpoolSouthamptonAbout this SiteFeedbackText Only