|Explore this site|
The Missions to Seamen Institute on the East India Dock Road.
|The Missions to Seamen Institute on the East India Dock Road.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: H0049|
|Description: A postcard showing the Missions to Seamen Institute at 154 East India Dock Road, c. 1904. This building was opened in 1893 by the Church of England's Missions to Seamen organization. It contained a church, institute, gymnasium, coffee bar and class rooms. The Missions to Seamen left the building in 1932 to set up a new home in the Royal Docks, but the building still stands.|
|Date: c. 1904|
|Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London|