|Explore this site|
Tilbury, by W.L. Wyllie.
|Tilbury, by W.L. Wyllie.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: PW0845|
|Description: A watercolour of Tilbury Docks by William Lionel Wyllie, c. 1890. These docks, 26 miles downstream from London Bridge, had been opened in 1886 by the East and West India Dock Company as part of the intense rivalry between the dock companies.
For many decades, the Tilbury Docks were underused, but now they are the most important port on the Thames.|
|Creator: William Lionel Wyllie|
|Date: c. 1890|
|Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London|