|Explore this site|
Medal commemorating the opening of Tilbury deep water docks, 1886.
|Medal commemorating the opening of Tilbury deep water docks, 1886.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: E4307-1|
|Description: The East and West India Docks Company (the two had amalgamated in 1833) built the new dock, which was situated more than 40 kilometres (25 miles) down river from London. The inscription states: IN COMMEMORATION OF THE OPENING OF THE TILBURY DEEP WATER DOCKS BY HARRY H . DOBREE ESQ. CHAIRMAN OF THE COMPANY APRIL 17TH 1886.|
|Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London|