PortCities London
UKBristolHartlepoolLiverpoolLondonSouthampton
You are here:  PortCities London home > The working Thames > London's docks and shipping
Text Only About this Site Feedback
Explore this site
About maritime London
Early port
Tudor and Stuart port
18th-century port
19th-century port
20th-century port
People and places
Port communities
Crime and punishment
Leisure, health and housing
Thames art, literature and architecture
The working Thames
London's docks and shipping
Trades, industries and institutions
Port of science and discovery
Historical events
Ceremony and catastrophe
London in war and conflict
Fun and games
Things to do
Timeline games
Matching games
Send an e-card
*
   Back to Introduction
*
**
*

Port of London Authority flag.

Port of London Authority flag.
Port of London Authority flag.
© National Maritime Museum, London
Repro ID: RP_17_30
Description: On 1 March 1909, the Port of London Authority took over from the dock companies five separate dock complexes: London and St Katharines, Surrey Commercial, India and Millwall, the Royals and Tilbury. Between them, they had an area of nearly 3000 acres, including 700 acres of enclosed water, about 30 miles of quays and four dry docks. It also took over the property, powers and duties of the Thames Conservancy Board.
Creator: Porter Brothers and Co. Ltd
Date: 20th century
Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London
*
*
Related Resources
Related Galleries1 Galleries
Related Images26 Images
*
*
8
National Maritime Museum/Royal Observatory GreenwichNew Opportunities Fund 
Legal & CopyrightPartner sites:BristolHartlepoolLiverpoolSouthamptonAbout this SiteFeedbackText Only