PortCities London
UK Bristol Hartlepool Liverpool London Southampton
You are here:  PortCities London home > The working Thames > Trades, industries and institutions
Text Only About this Site Feedback
Explore this site
About maritime London
Early port
Tudor and Stuart port
18th-century port
19th-century port
20th-century port
People and places
Port communities
Crime and punishment
Leisure, health and housing
Thames art, literature and architecture
The working Thames
London's docks and shipping
Trades, industries and institutions
Port of science and discovery
Historical events
Ceremony and catastrophe
London in war and conflict
Fun and games
Things to do
Timeline games
Matching games
Send an e-card

Trinity House depot at Trinity Buoy Wharf.

Trinity House depot at Trinity Buoy Wharf.
Trinity House depot.
© National Maritime Museum, London
Repro ID: H0447
Description: Trinity Buoy Wharf, on the north bank of the River Thames at Blackwall, close to the confluence of the Thames and the River Lea (Bow Creek). For 185 years (from 1803 to 1988) this site was occupied by the Corporation of Trinity House. The lighthouse, which still stands today, was designed by Sir James Douglass, the Trinity House engineer-in-chief. It was finished in the early 1880s and used to train lighthouse keepers.
Creator: Unknown
Date: 1984
Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London
National Maritime Museum/Royal Observatory Greenwich New Opportunities Fund National Grid for Learning SeaBritain 2005  
Legal & Copyright Partner sites: Bristol Hartlepool Liverpool Southampton About this Site Feedback Text Only