PortCities London
You are here:  PortCities London home > People and places > Leisure, health and housing
Text Only About this Site Feedback
Explore this site
About maritime London
Early port
Tudor and Stuart port
18th-century port
19th-century port
20th-century port
People and places
Port communities
Crime and punishment
Leisure, health and housing
Thames art, literature and architecture
The working Thames
London's docks and shipping
Trades, industries and institutions
Port of science and discovery
Historical events
Ceremony and catastrophe
London in war and conflict
Fun and games
Things to do
Timeline games
Matching games
Send an e-card

The Thames Ironworks Football Club.

The Thames Ironworks Football Club.
Thames Ironworks FC.
© National Maritime Museum, London
Repro ID: H2688
Description: Formed in 1895, Thames Ironworks Football Club changed its name to West Ham Football Club in 1900. This was after Arnold Hills, the Chairman of the ironworks, had provided the money for a merger with another East London side, Old Castle Swifts. The badge of today's team still displays the old ironworks with two crossed riveting hammers. The team origins are also evident in the nicknames used by fans, the 'Hammers' and the 'Irons', and by the fact that West Ham still play in claret and blue, the house colours of the old Thames Ironworks.
Creator: Unknown
Date: 1896
Credit line: Newham Archives and Local Studies Library collection.
Related Resources
Related Images1 Images
National Maritime Museum/Royal Observatory GreenwichNew Opportunities Fund 
Legal & CopyrightPartner sites:BristolHartlepoolLiverpoolSouthamptonAbout this SiteFeedbackText Only