|Explore this site|
The Thames Ironworks Football Club.
|Thames Ironworks FC.|
|© National Maritime Museum, London|
|Repro ID: H2688|
|Description: Formed in 1895, Thames Ironworks Football Club changed its name to West Ham Football Club in 1900. This was after Arnold Hills, the Chairman of the ironworks, had provided the money for a merger with another East London side, Old Castle Swifts. The badge of today's team still displays the old ironworks with two crossed riveting hammers. The team origins are also evident in the nicknames used by fans, the 'Hammers' and the 'Irons', and by the fact that West Ham still play in claret and blue, the house colours of the old Thames Ironworks.|
|Credit line: Newham Archives and Local Studies Library collection.|