|Explore this site|
What is left of the old port: The West India Docks
|The West India Docks, opened in 1802, were the first of the enclosed docks. They were literally enclosed - being cut off from the surrounding area by a high wall and a moat. Much has survived, despite wartime destruction and the building of the massive Canary Wharf complex on part of the dock site.|
|The round Guard House, one of two built in 1802-03. This served as an armoury and lock-up. It was outside the original perimeter moat, but was linked to the dock by a drawbridge.|
No 1 Gate.
|The original No 1 Gate. This was the main entrance to the West India Docks and was the scene of the daily 'call-on' - where dock labourers would be taken on for a day's work.|
|These cottages in Garford Street, designed by John Rennie and built in 1819, were for the constables of the West India Dock Company.|
Commemorative wall tablet.
|The wall tablet that once graced the original entrance to the docks. It heaps praise on the 'public spirited individuals' who had promoted the docks.|
The Dockmaster's House.
|This building served many functions. It has been an excise office, the Jamaica Tavern, and even the Dockmaster's House. It is now a public house.|
Replica of original entrance gate.
|A modern replica of the original entrance gate demolished in 1932. On top of the original gate was a sculpture of the 'Hibbert' a vessel engaged in the West India trade, and named after the chairman of the West India Dock Company.|
Warehouses at the Import Dock.
|The impressive warehouses on the North Quay of the West India Dock Import Dock. Designed by George Gwyllt, these are the most important surviving early dock warehouses in London.|
Find out more