PortCities London
You are here:  PortCities London home > The working Thames > London's docks and shipping
Text Only About this Site Feedback
Explore this site
About maritime London
Early port
Tudor and Stuart port
18th-century port
19th-century port
20th-century port
People and places
Port communities
Crime and punishment
Leisure, health and housing
Thames art, literature and architecture
The working Thames
London's docks and shipping
Trades, industries and institutions
Port of science and discovery
Historical events
Ceremony and catastrophe
London in war and conflict
Fun and games
Things to do
Timeline games
Matching games
Send an e-card
   Back to What is left of the old port: the East India Docks

Royal Albert Dock

1 of 3 PicturesNext >
Map of the Royal Victoria, Royal Albert and King George V Docks.
© National Maritime Museum, London
Repro ID: H1897
Description: The King George V Dock was so enormous that it added ten per cent to the area of enclosed dock water in the port. Opened on 8 July 1921, it completed the complex familiary known thereafter as 'the Royals', which for many years were without equal anywhere in the world. The combined water area was 245 acres and all three docks were interconnected.
Creator: Port of London Authority
Date: 1934
Credit line: National Maritime Museum, London
Next >
National Maritime Museum/Royal Observatory GreenwichNew Opportunities Fund 
Legal & CopyrightPartner sites:BristolHartlepoolLiverpoolSouthamptonAbout this SiteFeedbackText Only